top of page

Graduate in 3D Design and Craft

Updated: Jan 30, 2019

After recently graduating from the BA(Hons) 3D Design and Craft degree with a first class honours and gratefully receiving highly commended for 'The Anna Maria Desogus Memorial Prize'. I would like to take the time to share with you my University experience. The first year of the course almost eased you into the transition between college and uni as it flowed into taster modules of all the different material areas eg. Wood, Metal, Ceramics, Polymers and Digital. It gave me an opportunity to get my bearings with the workshops, tutors, technicians and other students. Alongside the practical, the course also covered other theory based models eg. Professional Practice, Creative Enquiry, Historical and Critical studies and in final year our dissertation. Into second year the course became more specific as it enabled me to narrow down my choices by selecting specific briefs which took of interest. Towards the end of the year it became predominate that I enjoyed anything within relation to wood or heavy metal. With the guidance of tutors I was able to easily make decisions for myself within the direction of how I would take my final year. The final year is all dependent on you as a designer. As you make and set your own brief, sticking to your own timetable with minimal tutor guidance only on request. I throughly enjoyed this year even though it became a very stressful time looking back I enjoyed the freedom to make something I felt was worthy to join and be within the design industry. It made me accomplish task I never thought I could do and produce something I was very proud of. I'd like to take gratitude to the technicians and tutors that helped me along the way and friends who made the three years of University very special. Most importantly my final year tutor Stefano Santilli, for his passion, talent and skill which inspired me to persevere continuously throughout. His attentiveness and unbelievable knowledge has enable me to leave university with my head held high with hope of a successful future ahead.



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page